2020: On-line Conference

Conference Details

2020: On-line Conference

On-line Conference during COVID19
November 6, 2020

The Canadian Public Economics Group (CPEG) invites you to submit a paper for its annual meeting, which will take place on-line on November 6, 2020. This year’s on-line conference is jointly organized by the Departments of Economics of Laurier, Queen’s, and UQAM. Accepted papers will be presented in plenary sessions. We welcome papers in all areas of theoretical and empirical public economics, including public finance, political economy, and policy-oriented microeconomics. Graduate students are encouraged to submit papers to the conference.

Due to COVID-19, this year we have decided to do a smaller on-line conference. The conference will consist of three one and a half-hour session plus a plenary talk. The conference will run from 9 am to 4 pm (EST). That is, we will only have six papers plus the plenary talk.

To be considered for this year’s program, please submit your paper to the scientific committee. Send an extended abstract and, if available, a draft of the paper to cpeg2020submissions@gmail.com by Tuesday, September 15, 2020. If you would like to participate as a discussant, please email the scientific committee at cpeg2020submissions@gmail.com.

A decision on the acceptance of papers will be made by the scientific committee with authors being notified in the midst of September.

Organizing Committee

Maria Gallego

Professor of Economics
Lazaridis School of Business and Economics
Wilfrid Laurier University
About Organizer

Arnaud Dellis

Department of Economics
Université du Québec à Montréal
About Organizer

Christopher Cotton

Professor and Jarislowsky-Deutsch Chair in Economic & Financial Policy
Director, John Deutsch Institute for the Study of Economic Policy
Department of Economics, Queen's University
About Organizer


We are pleased to announce that our plenary speaker will be:

Leonard Wantchekon

Professor of Politics and International Affairs
Affiliate, Economics Department
Princeton University
About Speaker

Scientific Committee

Philippe De Donder

Toulouse School of Economics
About Committee Member

Jean Guillaume Forand

University of Waterloo
About Committee Member

Maria Gallego

Wilfrid Laurier University (Chair)
About Committee Member

Elisabeth Gugl

University of Victoria
About Committee Member

Tilman Klumpp

University of Alberta
About Committee Member

Jean William Laliberte

University of Calgary
About Committee Member

Steeve Mongrain

Simon Fraser University
About Committee Member